Beginning My Journey

Taryn Terrell, Wrestler

What I didn’t understand about being saved was that I could be forgiven. I could truly be forgiven for all of the bad things that I have done…I will tell you that the moment that I truly feel and believe that I was saved — all these years of thinking, ‘Sure, I’m a Christian. I am going to Heaven. I believe that I was going there’ — I was speaking with a Christian counselor in June and he asked me, ‘Are you saved?’ Again, I gave the same answer, ‘Yeah, sure. I believe in God, I believe in Heaven.’

It was then that he said, ‘Well, that’s great, but being a Christian means that you believe in Jesus. You believe that He died on the cross, that He died for our sins, that He was resurrected, that He is going to come again. That is your ticket to Heaven. That is your ticket to the Kingdom.’  It registered. It was something that I don’t know if I had heard before, or if I had heard it before, I didn’t truly hear it.

I remember I was driving and my daughter was in the back seat and I had this powerful, overwhelming feeling that came over me that somebody died. God sent Jesus to die for our sins. We are not talking about somebody who says, ‘Sure, you are forgiven.’ We are talking about somebody who suffered, who died so that we could be forgiven…The heaviness of that came upon me and I went to church that next week and my pastor was talking about the same thing, the exact same thing. If God wasn’t trying to talk to me than I don’t know anything.

This is the beginning of my journey…This is me, an infant Christian, coming to you because I was just so recently on the other side wondering ‘What does all this mean? Am I going to Heaven? Do I really need to have this personal relationship with God? Can’t I just be a good person, and do good things? Isn’t that enough? But it’s not. It’s not enough. You have that relationship.

Don’t you want to know what it is that will really truly get you to Heaven, to the Kingdom, to the glory of God?  Look, I don’t know much. Like I said, I am just in the process of beginning to be a Christian, but I am beginning to grow and mature and grow in my relationship with Christ.

Related:
Read more

Would you like to add your thoughts?