The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Names, Titles, and Characters of Jesus Christ

The Blue Letter Bible has published a page with information taken from the whole Bible about the God we worship, Jesus Christ.   Seeing all the names, titles and other attributes with which he is labeled in both the Old and New Testaments and contemplating those titles and their meaning to me personally is a wonderful way to worship Him.  Worshiping Him is what we are made for.  Worshiping Him is what those who know Him will do for all eternity.  These Name, Titles and Attributes allow practice in this life.

Here is the first list of names, titles, and characters.  More are to come.  Please use these to worship your God now.

Thank you Blue Letter Bible for this summary.

And Simon Peter Answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the Living God. Mat 16:16
The Son 1Jo 4:14
The Son of God Jhn 1:34
The Son of the living God Mat 16:16
His only begotten Son Jhn 3:16
The Son of the Father 1Jo 1:3
The only begotten of the Father Jhn 1:14
The only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father Jhn 1:18
The first-born of every creature Col 1:15
His own Son Rom 8:32
A Son given Isa 9:6
One Son (his well-beloved) Mar 12:6
My Son Psa 2:7
His dear Son (or the Son of his love) Col 1:13
The Son of the Highest Luk 1:32
The Son of the Blessed Mar 14:61
Secret Jdg 13:18
Wonderful Isa 9:6
Testimony borne to the Son by the Father, by Jesus Himself, by the Spirit, by Angels, saints, men and devils.
The Father, “My Beloved Son.” Mat 17:5
Jesus Himself, “I am the Son of God.” Jhn 10:36
The Spirit, “The Son of God.” Mar 1:1
Gabriel, “The Son of God.” Luk 1:35; 2:11
John Baptist, “This is the Son of God.” Jhn 1:34
John, Apostle, “The Christ, the Son of God.” Jhn 20:31
Paul, Apostle, “He is the Son of God.” Act 9:20
Disciples, “Thou art the Son of God.” Mat 14:33
Nathaniel, “Rabbi, thou art the Son of God.” Jhn 1:49
Martha, “The Christ, the Son of God.” Jhn 11:27
Eunuch, “Jesus Christ is the Son of God.” Act 8:37
Centurion, “Truly this was the Son of God.” Mar 15:39
Unclean spirits, “Thou art the Son of God.” Mar 3:11
The Legion, “Thou Son of the Most High God.” Mar 5:7

For the Complete List, look here.

26 responses to “Names, Titles, and Characters of Jesus Christ

  1. marcusmaxis 02/20/2015 at 10:35 pm

    Kinda confirms he is the Son Of God doesnt it.

    Like

  2. Marcus Ampe 02/23/2015 at 5:49 am

    Reblogged this on Stepping Toes and commented:
    Too often people are mixing the Biblical characters and using titles as names. They do it for elements like word, wisdom, adversary, opposition, god, a.o..

    Having lots of modern Bible-translations having omitted the names of the proper character it has been made more difficult for people to know about whom is been spoken. the omitting of God’s Name and replacing it with Lord, later in the years even omitting capitals, people came to confuse Christ Jesus with his heavenly Father and vice versa.
    We all should be very careful to recognise the proper names of all Biblical figures and to understand what their title means.

    Like

    • papapound 02/24/2015 at 11:01 am

      Marcus, brother in Christ, you are right about names and titles. Please understand my context here. I put these up for worship (see my note on the first blog.) These are worship aids. This is a call to worship. What God’s people need desperately is to see Him for who He is and to worship Him. Worship Jesus. Worship the Father. Worship the Holy Spirit. Worship Him.

      The way I put my words together, you may not agree. But, you can worship Him in your way. All I am asking you is to worship.

      Liked by 1 person

    • papapound 03/16/2015 at 7:39 am

      Okay, you have pulled me in to a point you make here Marcus.

      You refer to the omitting of the name for God in the Old Testament, that is, transliteral, “Jehovah” as I understand it, or simply YHWH in Hebrew. Again that is also converted to English. These are besides the point I suppose because I am focusing on “Lord.” in your text. Actually “Lord” in the OT is “Lord” as I understand it. “LORD” in the modern translations is the “stand in” in English for the “YHWH” or “Jehovah.” Not a scholar, if true, this is a significant distinction. That is the way it is in the translations that I read now. So, actually the opposite of your comment after “Lord”. I believe if you go back to KJV, for instance, you may find less preciseness.

      Just for grins, God has many, many names, Old and New Testaments.

      Like

    • papapound 03/28/2015 at 12:56 pm

      Marcus, I don’t know who you worship or how you worship but you adhere to the New Testament part of the Bible, you come to terms with the implications of Jesus’ life on earth and what it accomplished. In reading all of what is there I find redemption–that is, from my personal sin against a holy God. Jesus is that intermediary who accomplished my being able to even approach a holy God. He paid my penalty. He freed me from condemnation and expulsion. Based on my study those are truths not contestable based on the writings of those who know him during that time.

      1 Timothy 2:5-6 English Standard Version (ESV)
      5 For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man[a] Christ Jesus, 6 who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time.

      Like

  3. Pingback: How Many Persons Created the Heavens and the Earth? – Messiah For All

  4. Bijbelvorsers 03/05/2015 at 8:27 am

    You say “the God we worship,” and than you suddenly mention God’s son instead of the Only One True God. Strange? We only should worship, in the strictest sense, Jehovah as our God. We may show our respect to Jesus and honour him too, but not in the veneration of God.

    Like

    • papapound 03/05/2015 at 8:05 pm

      I do worship the one true God. I invite you to worship Him. Please check out the scripture references to Him here. They are all hyperlinked.

      Blessing from God on you today.

      Like

      • Bijbelvorsers 03/06/2015 at 3:42 am

        I think there is only One True God, the heavenly Father of Jesus Christ, whose Name is Jehovah. So your invitation to worship the one true God seems strange, because if you would have looked at my site you would have noticed I try others to get to know this One True God and also to get to know His son. You, to me, seem to honour an other God, because you seem to have three gods:1. God the Father, 2. a god the son; 3. a god the holy spirit.
        According to the Bible which I take as my teaching book, there is only One God divine Creator, “The I am Who Is” the Elohim Hashem Jehovah.This Adonai is the only one we should worship. But from your writings I get the impression you are also worshipping Jesus and even perhaps other persons.I do not know if you have crosses or other symbols in your house which you honour or of which you bow down in front. Of God may not made any graven image, so I do hope you have not any graven image of your god when he is according to you the One True God.
        For me the One True God is the God of the apostles, God of Jesus, God of Jacob, God of Isaac, God of Abraham, God of Adam and Eve, the Creator Deity.
        I do hope you will come to see that He is the Only One True God and nobody else.

        Like

        • papapound 03/11/2015 at 8:43 pm

          Sorry I did not get around to reviewing your comment until now.

          On your point just some thoughts:
          John 1:1 Before time began, the Word was in the beginning with God and Word was God.
          Elohim (plural name of God in Hebrew), Genesis 1, “let us make man in our image”
          Genesis 18 And the LORD appeared to him by the oaks of Mamre: Jehovah has a physical form
          The I AM of John 8 is an echo of I AM that I AM of Exodus 3. Jewish leaders want to stone Jesus for that statement.
          John 10 Jesus makes Himself equal with God by claiming oneness with God and the Jewish leaders interpreted Him that way by their response to Him.
          Doubting Thomas after the bodily resurrection of Jesus: “My Lord and My God.”
          Hebrews 1 verse 5 the Father speaks of His Son specifically, then verse 8 the Father says: “Your throne, O God, is forever and ever,”

          This is not extensive, just highlights but these make the point. I have to go with what the scriptures say. These scriptures are all I go on.

          Jesus is the LORD, the Christ, died for my sins, was buried, raised and He ascended to heaven to reign with the Father–His Father and because I know Him, my Father.

          I worship Him as Thomas and others of scripture did.

          Like

          • Bijbelvorsers 03/23/2015 at 8:40 am

            The Elohim meaning the Most High speaks in the pluralis majestatis or Royal We like any high person still speaks but is not many.

            The doubting Thomas expressed himself like still many do today as well; ‘Like saying oh my god”. Do you think that person they are talking about or the event happening is god or of god? Plus you seem to miss the little word “and”, but even when you take it not being there it still does not bring Thomas saying the god Jesus would be the Elohim God. The same as the other gods spoken of in the Bible, like Apollo, Zeus, Pharaoh, Moses and angels would be the God of gods. They may be gods, or higher placed persons but not The God. The same of the present gods, like Clooney and other film and football-stars, which people call god but hopefully you will not be taken those people, called by others ‘god’ to be the Real True God, the Divine Creator of heaven and earth.

            In the Gospel of John we also find:

            “No one {1} taketh it away from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have {2} power to lay it down, and I have {2} power to take it again. This commandment received I from my Father. {1) Some ancient authorities read [took it away] 2) Or [right]}” (John 10:18 ASV)

            “25 Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believe not: the works that I do in my Father’s name, these bear witness of me. 26 But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep. 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 and I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, and no one shall snatch them out of my hand. 29 {1} My Father, who hath given [them] unto me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch {2} [them] out of the Father’s hand. {1) Some ancient authorities read [That which my Father hath given unto me] 2) Or, aught} 30 I and the Father are one. 31 The Jews took up stones again to stone him. 32 Jesus answered them, Many good works have I showed you from the Father; for which of those works do ye stone me? 33 The Jews answered him, For a good work we stone thee not, but for blasphemy; and because that thou, being a man, makest thyself God. 34 Jesus answered them, Is it not written in your law, {1} I said, ye are gods? {1) Ps 82:6} 35 If he called them gods, unto whom the word of God came (and the scripture cannot be broken), 36 say ye of him, whom the Father {1} sanctified and sent into the world, Thou blasphemest; because I said, I am [the] Son of God? {1) Or [consecrated]} 37 If I do not the works of my Father, believe me not. 38 But if I do them, though ye believe not me, believe the works: that ye may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in the Father. 39 They sought again to take him: and he went forth out of their hand.” (John 10:25-39 ASV)

            Like

            • papapound 03/23/2015 at 8:44 pm

              All good bijbel. I agree with all the verses you quoted. This Jesus did rise from the dead per the scene with Thomas. The Disciple John calls Jesus God–John 1:1. The Father in Heaven calls His Son, the Song of God, “God.” That is found in Hebrews. These are just some of the focuses on the divinity of the Son–Jesus. The Holy Spirit I see in the New Testament is also God. The Father is God. I worship God–the God of the Old Testament and of the New.

              Like

              • guestpeaker 07/22/2015 at 5:56 am

                Angels, certain demons, Pharaoh, Moses where also called god, do you think (as they were like Jesus called god) they were the real God of gods?

                Like

                • papapound 07/26/2015 at 5:18 am

                  I don’t know if it is required that you believe that Jesus is God to have eternal life or to make it into heaven. I haven’t studied the Word of God enough at this point to know that definitely.

                  You have pulled from the Watchtower translation before though you say you are not connected to a body which oversees your beliefs on your web site. Jehovah’s Witnesses are the closest to your beliefs that I have come across. They follow only the Watchtower.

                  I would hope that there are scholars in your group who are experts at Hebrew, Aramaic and Greek. Those are needed to correctly interpret. It also helps to know the history of manuscript collections, that is, manuscript collections used to translate Old and New Testaments.

                  I referenced http://www.christadelphia.org/belief.htm

                  Good day!

                  Like

                  • guestpeaker 07/31/2015 at 9:36 am

                    We do not hide that this a Christadelphian website and present openly our thoughts. In our worldwide group we have several scholars and experts at Hebrew, Aramaic and Greek. There are also people who also co-operated for several Bible translations (even a trinitarian Study Bible).

                    We may assure you we do not follow the JW Watchtower Organisation at all.

                    Like

            • papapound 03/28/2015 at 12:43 pm

              Jesus’ grace towards me is very costly. Not what a famous German had to say about it.

              https://goodnewsnow.wordpress.com/2015/03/28/costly-grace/

              Like

            • papapound 04/07/2015 at 6:48 pm

              I am sorry. I did a terrible misspelling. The Father in Hebrews 1 did not call the Son, the Song of God. He called Him God! Let me quote the full passage here. That should clear it up.
              1 Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, 2 but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world. 3 He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high, 4 having become as much superior to angels as the name he has inherited is more excellent than theirs.

              5 For to which of the angels did God ever say,

              “You are my Son,
              today I have begotten you”?
              Or again,

              “I will be to him a father,
              and he shall be to me a son”?
              6 And again, when he brings the firstborn into the world, he says,

              “Let all God’s angels worship him.”
              7 Of the angels he says,

              “He makes his angels winds,
              and his ministers a flame of fire.”
              8 But of the Son he says,

              “Your throne, O God, is forever and ever,
              the scepter of uprightness is the scepter of your kingdom.
              9 You have loved righteousness and hated wickedness;
              therefore God, your God, has anointed you
              with the oil of gladness beyond your companions.”

              But of the Son, the Father says, “Your throne, O God, is forever and ever.

              That should help tremendously.

              Like

              • papapound 04/08/2015 at 5:41 am

                I have long been out of apologetics mode in my life. I have a history in apologetics going back many years including a study of Islam and Christianity and a refutation of Bart Ehrman’s claims in all his pop scholarly writings. I concluded that they are pop but not scholarly. All that to say I have done my homework over many years.

                On John 1:1, I looked back at the English Standard Version notes on the verse. The ESV is one of the latest translations taken from the Westcott and Hort collection of manuscripts. Why is that important? It is not drastically important except that around the world manuscript portions of the new testament are still being discovering and many of those are added to the Westcott and Hort collection. Here is the ESV notes on John 1:1.

                ***In the beginning was the Word*** echoes the opening phrase of the book of Genesis, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” John will soon identify this Word as Jesus (v.14), but here he locates Jesus’ existence in eternity past with God. The term “the Word” (Greek, Logos) conveys the notion of divine self-expression or speech and has a rich OT background. God’s Word is effective: God speaks, and things come into being (Gen. 1:3, 9; Ps. 33:6; 107:20; Isa. 55:10-11), and by speech he relates personally to his people(e.g., Gen 15:1). John also shows how this concept of “the Word” is superior to a Greek philosophical concept of “Word” (logos) as an impersonal principle of Reason that gave order to the universe. ***And the Word was with God*** indicates interpersonal relationship “with” God, but then ***and the Word was God*** affirms that this Word was also the same God who created the universe “in the beginning.” Here are the building blocks that go into the doctrine of the Trinity: the one true God consists of more than one person, they relate to each other, and they have always existed. From the Patristic period (Arius, c. A.D. 256-336) until the present day (Jehovah’s Witnesses), some have claimed that “the Word was God” merely identifies Jesus as a god rather than identifying Jesus as God, because the Greek word for God, Theos, is not preceded by a definite article. However, in Greek grammar, Colwell’s Rule indicates that the translation “a god” is not required, for lack of an article does not necessarily indicate indefiniteness (“a god” ) but rather specifiies that a given term (“God”) is the predicate nominative of a definite subject (“the Word”). This means that the context must determine the meaning of Theor here, and teh context clearly indicates that this “God” that John is talking about (“the Word”) is the one true God who created all things (see also John 1:6, 12, 13, 18 for other examples of Theos without a definite article but clearly meaning “God”).

                I am not sure you are interested but I hope so and I have placed this note here for documentation.

                Like

                • Christadelphians 04/24/2015 at 8:55 am

                  In the beginning it was the Only One supreme eternal God Who created the heavens and the earth. About this eternal God we are told He is a Spirit Who has no flesh and bones, had no beginning (is not born) and cannot die (Jesus really did die).

                  Joh 1:1-14 The Scriptures 1998+ (1) In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with Elohim {The God}, and the Word was Elohim {a god}. (2) He was in the beginning with Elohim. (3) All came to be through Him,1 and without Him not even one came to be that came to be. Footnote: 1Eph. 3:9, Col. 1:16, Heb. 1:2, Heb. 11:3, 2 Peter 3:5, Ps. 33:6. (4) In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. (5) And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. (6) There was a man sent from Elohim, whose name was Yoh?anan. (7) This one came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all might believe through him. (8) He was not that Light, but that he might bear witness of that Light. (9) He was the true Light, which enlightens every man, coming into the world. (10) He was in the world, and the world came to be through Him, and the world did not know Him. (11) He came to His own, and His own did not receive Him. (12) But as many as received Him, to them He gave the authority to become children of Elohim, to those believing in His Name, (13) who were born, not of blood nor of the desire of flesh nor of the desire of man, but of Elohim. (14) And the Word became flesh and pitched His tent1 among us, and we saw His esteem, esteem as of an only brought-forth of a father, complete in favour and truth. Footnote: 1An indication that His birth was during the Festival of Booths.

                  “In the beginning was the Word  …  all things were made by him.” “logos” does not in itself denote personality. It is personified by the masculine gender in the a.v., The Diaglott avoids confusion by translating the pronouns in the neuter-“through it every thing was done.” An Old Testament parallel to the personification of logos is the personification of wisdom: “The LORD possessed me in the beginning of his way, before his works of old. I was set up from everlasting, from the beginning, or ever the earth was.” (#Pr 8:22, 23). In this passage, wisdom is personified as a woman. (#Pr 8:1, 2).

                  John is referring to God’s Speaking first at the total beginning, when nothing was there, but everything came into being by the Speaking, forming words, by God. Secondly God spoke to the 1st Adam after the fall and promised a solution for what he had done. That Word spoken in the Garden of Eden was talking about the saviour, the Kristos or Christ, Jesus the Messiah.
                  Many centuries later God spoke again and a virgin became pregnant. The son she bore was the promise of God, the Word of God, which came in fulfilment and as such the Word of God became flesh. This being born out of the Wish of God, the Speaking of God is Jeshua, Jesus Christ.

                  The evangelist John building up his gospel like the Bereshith of Moses brings us now the Beginning of the New World in which Jeshua (Jesus) is the second Adam.

                  As you rightly say: ” God’s Word is effective: God speaks, and things come into being (Gen. 1:3, 9; Ps. 33:6; 107:20; Isa. 55:10-11), and by speech he relates personally to his people(e.g., Gen 15:1).” Now we see that His Word spoken at the beginning of times, long before Abraham was born, brought us (the world) a way to bring us back in a good relationship with the Divine Creator, by way of His only begotten son.

                  God Himself said about the man in the river Jordan that he is His son:

                  Gal 4:3-7 The Scriptures 1998+ (3) So we also, when we were children, were under the elementary matters of the world, being enslaved. (4) But when the completion of the time came, Elohim sent forth His Son, born of a woman, born under Torah, (5) to redeem those who were under Torah, in order to receive the adoption as sons. (6) And because you are sons, Elohim has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying, “Abba, Father!” (7) So you are no longer a slave but a son, and if a son, also an heir of Elohim through Messiah.

                  Luk 1:30-35 The Scriptures 1998+ (30) And the messenger said to her, “Do not be afraid, Miryam, for you have found favour with Elohim. (31) “And see, you shall conceive in your womb, and shall give birth to a Son, and call His Name יהושע {Jeshua}.1 Footnote: 1Mt. 1:21. (32) “He shall be great, and shall be called the Son of the Most High. And יהוה {Jehovah} Elohim shall give Him the throne of His father Dawiḏ. (33) “And He shall reign over the house of Yaʽaqob forever, and there shall be no end to His reign.”1 Footnote: 1Verses 32 and 33 confirm the prophecies Ps. 2, Ps. 89:14-34, Isa. 9:7, Isa. 16:5, Jer. 23:3-6, Jer. 30:9, Ezek. 37:24, Dan. 2:44, Dan. 7:18-27, Mic. 5:2-4, Acts 1:6-7, Rev. 11:15. (34) And Miryam said to the messenger, “How shall this be, since I do not know a man?” (35) And the messenger answering, said to her, “The Set-apart Spirit shall come upon you, and the power of the Most High shall overshadow you. And for that reason the Set-apart One born of you shall be called: Son of Elohim.

                  As you can see, the infallible Word of God announces us Jeshua to be “the son of God” and not to be Him reincarnated , a sort of thing or idea God defiles.

                  Like

                  • papapound 04/27/2015 at 4:13 pm

                    Great selections of scriptures all of them.

                    Of course I can’t agree with your summation at the top. The scriptures teach me otherwise. Even some of the ones you quoted as the classic John 1:1 combined with 14. The eternal Word was God. v.1 and to connect the dots v.14 shows that He, the Word, became flesh and walked as we walk. He is the Creator of you and I v.3. Wow! Thanks!

                    Like

              • Bijbelvorsers 04/21/2015 at 12:35 pm

                The throne which Jesus as a god but not The God, shall receive for some time, shall stay for ever, but Jesus will hand it over back to the God of gods, his heavenly Father.

                For verse 8 in Hebrews which is the quotation from Psalm 45:6), there is some uncertainty as to the precise translation of this verse. Two possibilities exist:
                a. “Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever” (A.V.)
                b. “God is thy throne for ever and ever” (RSV mg.)

                Psalms 45:6 {1 } Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever: A sceptre of equity is the sceptre of thy kingdom. {1) Or Thy throne is the throne of God etc }

                Since only the first of these translations is useful for the trinitarian, it will be assumed that this is the correct translation.

                But when we look further and come to “Therefore God, even thy God” (Hebrews 1:9) we know that the Father is the God of Jesus, then clearly Jesus is not himself “Very God.” (See also John 20:17).

                In this Psalm the Hebrew word “elohim” is translated “God.” The word “elohim” is used of Moses relationship with Pharaoh: “And the LORD said unto Moses, See, I have made thee a god {elohim } to Pharaoh.” (Exodus 7:1). It also is used of the judges of Israel. [(Psalm 82:6) cf. (John 10:34; Ex 22:9,28)].
                Everywhere in the Bible where is been spoken about persons in a higher position there is used the word ‘god’ which is a title and not a name.As such we find Chaos, Zeus, Apollo, Pharaoh, Moses and angels being called god. Persons who are divinely appointed and made strong by Jehovah are referred to as “god,” but this does not imply they are persons within a or the Godhead.

                In “the world to come” (Hebrews 2:5), the Son will be called “The mighty God” (Isaiah 9:6), although “now we see not yet all things put under him.” (Hebrews 2:8). In the Kingdom Age, the Son will reign with the power and authority of his Father. (1Coritnhians 15:24-28). The writer to the Hebrews points out, however, that the “more excellent name” obtained by the Son is by virtue of his personal worthiness and elevation by his Father, and not by the Son re-claiming divested powers of the Godhead, as trinitarians assert:
                “Thou hast loved righteousness, and hated iniquity; therefore God, even thy God, hath anointed thee with the oil of gladness above thy fellows.” (Hebrews 1:9).

                Like

                • papapound 04/21/2015 at 4:04 pm

                  From the Old Testament, we know there is a Father, a Spirit and a physical, walking around fleshly being of God. Look at Genesis 18.

                  But, let me put out here Hebrews 1:8 and following. All of these statements make by the Father of the Son of God. These seem so clear to me, especially when taken with all the remaining NT and OT scriptures about the Son of God. Jesus is God without any question in my mind. I am asking you Bijbelvorsers to deal with verse 8. Then put it in context.

                  8 But of the Son he says, (do I have to say again, the Father said these statements of His Son)

                  “Your throne, O God, is forever and ever,
                  the scepter of uprightness is the scepter of your kingdom.
                  9 You have loved righteousness and hated wickedness;
                  therefore God, your God, has anointed you
                  with the oil of gladness beyond your companions.”
                  10 And,
                  “You, Lord, laid the foundation of the earth in the beginning,
                  and the heavens are the work of your hands;
                  11 they will perish, but you remain;
                  they will all wear out like a garment,
                  12 like a robe you will roll them up,
                  like a garment they will be changed.[a]
                  But you are the same,
                  and your years will have no end.”

                  “forever and ever means pre-existence, before time as we know it. He existed with the Father in the beginning, before time.

                  Amen! Jesus died for you and your sins! Seek Him for that.

                  Like

            • papapound 04/07/2015 at 6:52 pm

              Just to clear up one point Bonhoffer was German but not a preacher. He was a layman with deep understanding. He gave his life for helping to make Germany free–the country it is today.

              Like

              • Christadelphians 04/24/2015 at 9:00 am

                Perhaps you take ‘preacher’ in a strict sense of having to have gone to a theological university, but those who try to tell others about the Good News and Witness in the Name of God we also may call “preacher”. A preacher does not have to belong to the clergy, like you give the impression. You are also preaching (though you too may be a lay man with a wife and children) and many other lay people are preaching.

                Like

Would you like to add your thoughts?

