The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Fear

There are so many elements to fear.  It is a vast subject.   Fear is an emotion that is so harmful and negative that we respond with the most immediate action we can take to remove it or eliminate it.

I want to face my fears.   I want to conquer my fears.   I should say that I want God to enable me to conquer all my fears.  Will I ever?  I don’t know.

I know that I have Him and He opposes all the fear I experience.  I am seeing fear is a wrong response and has elements of non-faith.

I want to get to the root of my fears and place them where they belong, in God’s care.

Ann Voskamp has made a statement or two about fear that speaks to me.  She has written as though God is speaking.  Maybe He communicated this to her in some way.  Her book, one thousand gifts, does not designate.

All fear is but the notion that God’s love ends. Did you think that I end, that My bread and warehouses are limited, that I will not be enough? But I am infinite child, what can end in Me? Can life end in Me? Can happiness? Or peace? Or anything you need? Doesn’t your Father always give you what you need? I am the Bread of Life and My bread for you will never end. Fear thinks God is finite and fear believes that there is not going to be enough and hasn’t counted the one thousand gifts, exposed the lie at the heart of all fear? In Me, blessings never end because my love for you never ends. If My goodness toward you ends, I will cease to exist, child. As long as there is a God in heaven, there is grace on earth and I am the spilling God of the uncontainable, forever-overflowing-love-grace.

Would you like to add your thoughts?

