The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Though He Slay Me…will I trust?

I have prayed for someone who is in lots of continuous physical/mental/emotion/spiritual pain for some time.   As I prayed two sets of scriptures come to mind.  One, a Job passage, ‘though you slay me, yet will I trust in you’, the other Paul’s thoughts about his one tribulations, ‘a momentary light affliction.’

I asked the Lord to show me how to express these to that love one.  He led me to people on the net I had never been to before.  Besides that, of course, He led me to the verses to get the context of each passage.

I discovered Shane and Shane.   My wife knows them but I do not.  I had never heard of them.  So, they are new to me.  I listened and was moved.  Then as John Piper spoke (well into the video), I was overtaken by God’s grace over my own pain and affliction.  He is a gracious God.  We have a gracious God!

 
If you want more.  The Story behind the story:

Would you like to add your thoughts?

