The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Why Battle? My Take on the Battle for Men’s Heart Process

Here is my take of the Battle for the Heart process.

Summary

  • I learned more about what makes me respond the way I do and understand now the events from early in my life which shaped me and makes my soul the way it is.
  • Through the Battle process I was trained in the discipline of reflection time/quite time.
  • I had the best reflection time ever in 2011 and in Exodus 15, the Song of Moses.  The Song of Moses became my song.
  • I learned to look to God to complete my masculinity instead of taking my questions to women or a woman.
  • Through the Battle process God finally put women in their proper place in my mind.
  • Finally I have understood in a better way my calling to mentor and be a man of outreach to church, the workplace and my  community.

Each Jesus follower needs a dramatic transformation experience with God!  
The Battle for Men’s Heart process became that for me and in many ways.

I’ve had transformation and growth experiences in my past but the Battle for Men’s Heart retreat and follow through process provided a spiritual glue that integrates God’s Word and my experiences like no other process that I’ve experienced as a follower.

Many people, including Christians, are looking for and need a transformation experience to propel them into a different life, a new life and a better life.  God is calling His people to live a more fully alive–to experience more from Him–to find intimacy with Him!  Is that what you want?  I began transformation in the Battle for Men’s Heart process.  Below are some of the ways I began transformation.

I identified my pose framework.

I learned more about what makes me respond the way I do and understand the events early in my life which shaped me and makes me the way I am.   Some of those elements I  compensate for.  Others, not so well.  Those I don’t compensate for I consider my thorns in the flesh, the Apostle Paul talked about those that will not go away.  God becomes my compensation and cover for the weaknesses that will not go away.   He is my Wise Teacher showing me how to navigate life in His power and not my own.

These weaknesses are my reason for needing Him to be with me.   He wants it that way.  I am fallen and I depend on Him for courage and strength.

Through the Battle for Men’s Heart process I was trained in the discipline of reflection time/quite time.  This was one of the greatest benefits of the Battle process, a benefit I will take through the rest of my life.

I had the best reflection time ever in 2011 through Exodus 15.  This was a time when God had me look back over life and see Him working through all of it, from childhood on.  HE said to me “I was there when you did not believe I would come through for you.   I came through every time.  I am the faithful One. I was faithful to you over all those tough events in your life even though you were not faithful to me always. I remain faithful to you.”

This is TRUTH! TRUTH that will never go away. God was speaking and I will never forget the message. This is just one example of living deeper in Him.

Through the Battle process, I understood for first time  the importance of fellowship and the benefit of being a part of a band of brothers–an intimate fellowship. I am tied to these brothers I went through the Battle for Men’s Heart process forever!

Through the Battle for Men’s Heart process God finally put women in their proper place in my mind. I understood finally God’s view of women and desired that view of women to be in my mind as well.  The world taught me that they are object to be desired. God’s view is that they are  His creation and belong to Him.  He has given me one. She is the only one. The rest are sister-like to me. They are mind and soul with feelings and can be hurt or wounded if I do not treat them as I should.

In the past I looked to women, even my wife, to answer questions that only God can answer for me. I know now that my identity and masculinity are defined by Him and by no person, male or female.

Those women portrayed in bad images on the net and TV are victims who have been preyed upon by monsters who treat men, women and children horribly. I surely don’t want to support the dastardly treatment of men, women and children.  They are all God’s creation!  This realization came for the Battle for Men’s Heart discipleship process.

I have been blessed with more great concepts from the Word that I never comprehended the way they were presented in the follow through process (These are called Battle preps).  The follow through process sealed the value of the retreat in my heart by getting me before God in a way I had never approached Him before.  For me, this approach changed my relationship with God and impacted my relationships with others.

Finally I  understand in a better way my calling to mentor and be a man of outreach to church, the workplace and my community.

I list several sites here, lead by men of God, whose camps and retreats help start a process of transformation and becoming intimate with God.  Check some of these out and discover more of what God has for you.

I will list the Wellspring Group first because Larry Bolen created the Battle for Men’s Heart process.  Their touch has expanded to include a Women’s process, a Marriage process and related retreats and other adventures.

Battle commentary:
The Morrow Crew   Men   Women   Battle:  Whats Involved

John Eldredge Boot Camp

Listen to Dan Allender on this page.   It will be well worth your time.

Larry Crabb 1
Larry Crabb 2

We Few, We Happy Few, We Band of Brothers. ~Henry V
* The Battle for Men’s Heart is a 3 days retreat with a 32 week follow-up process of daily battle preps and an engage meeting  weekly.  The Battle for Men’s Heart process centers on 4 biblical realities which take us into the Larger Story we were designed to live in.  The 4 realities are:   1. God has chosen you. 2.  God has given you a part to play THAT IS YOURS ALONE. If you do not find a way, no one will. 3. Evil is hunting you. 4. A Fellowship desires to protect you.

 

John Eldredge’s take on discipleship and how desperately we need it.  He discusses the successful lay leader in a vibrate, growing church and all the accomplishments a typical leader takes on.  Then he calls all that he just described as “accomplishments” into question.

“But let me ask you:  A program like this–does it teach a person how to apply principles, or how to walk with God.  They are not the same thing.  Change the content and any cult could do this.  I mean, Gandhi was a remarkable man; so was Laotzu, Confucius, or Thomas Jefferson.  THey all had principles for a better life.  But only Christianity can teach you to walk with God.

We give up that birthright when we take folks through  a discipleship program where by they master any number of Christian precepts and miss the most important thing of all, the very thing for which we were created: intimacy with God.  There are, after all, those troubling words Jesus spoke to those who were doing all the “right” things: “Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you” (Matthew 7:23).  Knowing God. That’s the point.  ”

More from Eldredge on what it means to be a real disciple:

“Truth be told, you couldn’t master enough principles to see you safely through this Story.  There are too many surprises, ambiguities, exceptions to the rule.

“Only by walking with God can we hope to find the path that leads to life.  That is what it means to be a disciple.  After all–aren’t we “followers of Christ”?  Then by all means, let’s actually follow him.  Not ideas about him. Not just his principles. Him.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Would you like to add your thoughts?

