The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

The Heart is Central

The human heart is the central focus of our being.  God deals with us in our hearts.

Thanks god, my dearest and all dear friends! ;...

What is the heart?  John Eldredge, in Waking the Dead, concludes that your heart is “you.”  My heart is “me.”

Now if we break this down just a bit we see that the heart God deals with  has a rational component, we think, it has and emotional part, we feel, it has a volitional component, we make choices, and it has a desire part, we have surface and deep desires.  Some of our deep desires were place in our hearts by God.  That is the subject of another discussion.

I believe my heart has attitude!  My heart does have attitude and I have had to deal with attitude on many occasions.  Righting a wrong attitude makes all the other components of my heart work better together.

The Bible tells us the heart is central to our relationship with God and to what He is doing in our lives.  The heart is the place where His transforming work occurs and where His power is applied.

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.” Deuteronomy 6:5

“Man looks at the outward appearance, the Lord looks at the heart.” I Samuel 16:7

“Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Luke 12:34

“Your word I have treasured in my heart, that I may not sin against You.” Psalm 119:11

“For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.”  II Chronicles 16:9

“All a man’s ways seem right to him, but the Lord weighs the heart.” Proverbs 21:2

God wants your whole heart.  God wants to do His work in your whole heart.  Give Him your whole heart and He will transform it into something you cannot believe.  He promises to give you back your heart in a better condition.  His purpose in us is give us new hearts.    “And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you.And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.” Ezekiel 36: 26

God’s business is the business of transforming us into His likeness and to reflect His glory.  As we yield our hearts to Him, He does His work–making us into new creatures to love, serve, honor and worship Him.

Let me know your thoughts.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 responses to “The Heart is Central

  1. perceptionsshape 05/29/2014 at 6:04 am

    eloquently expressed and intentions to share your tool of coming to peace and in love is received…our heart is the mechanical and proverbial mechanism that keeps us alive and in love and it is no wonder it is placed between our mind and reproductive system; a symbolic reminder to always keep our hearts beating front and center. thank you for sharing, thank you for caring.

    Like

  2. nopew 05/29/2014 at 11:14 am

    Culture makes this interesting. The ancients Hebrews used the heart as a metaphor for thinking. A hard heart is in our terms a closed mind. “A a person thinks in their heart” cannot refer to emotions, as the heart metaphor is used in English. So God is looking for pure thoughts. God wants all our waking moments to have room to ponder and think and converse with God (all our heart [mind]). Soul is the Hebrew word that has a meaning of all we are in life, or our life force (to use a science fiction term). Our strength refers to what we do. This does not challenge anything you say, for your teaching is right on about what God wants. I am just a linguistic purist, and know that a literal translation can sometimes leave room for misleading a reader from another time/culture. Sorry for the rant – it’s just a hangover from my days in academia. By now I think you know I respect your blogging ministry.
    Peace

    Like

    • papapound 05/29/2014 at 10:20 pm

      I understand your thoughts on the heart. I have just about come to conclude with Eldredge who wrote the book we are working through that the best way to think of my heart is to think “me.” It’s me. It is thhe inner man the New Testament describes.

      My group had a nice discussion last night on the heart and what are its components. We are still wrestling with those thoughts.

      Like

      • nopew 05/30/2014 at 7:43 am

        A good wrestle is a good thing, especially when it reminds us how big God is. And, yes, whenever we use metaphors it gives colour and depth, but metaphors can be strained.
        Peace

        Like

  3. Pingback: Deep Restoration, Part 3 | The Good News

Would you like to add your thoughts?

