The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Waking the Dead – Our Glory

What happened to my glory?

As I have read Eldredge’s book, I have begun the meditate on each chapter, each section.   In fact,   I have taken the scriptures referenced there and used those for my reflection times with God.  These are some of the best scriptures to get to the heart of the matter, that is, what is going on inside me and what is going on in my world.

 

“The glory of God is man fully alive” -Saint Irenaeus.  The glory of God is, man, you and I, being, becoming fully alive to God.  That thought makes Eldredge and me ask, “What ARE God’s intentions towards me?   Let’s see what He said in the Word.  If Saint Irenaeus’ words are true, God must have staked His reputation on us being fully alive before Him.”

I came that they may have live and have it to the full (John 10:10).  I am the bread of life. (John 6:48).  Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. (Prov. 4:23).  In Him was life, and that life was the light of men. (John 1:4) Com to me to have life. (John 5:40) I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. (Ps. 27:13)

 

We know that Jesus came to give us eternal life.  Eternal means unending, not later. So why are we not experiencing this life?  How could it be that God’s glory is tied to my being fully alive and I know I am not fully live?   Life is hard.  Bad things happen. I am just trying to get by. Why can’t I see through the fog that is my life right now?

 

God blessed Adam and Even with glory.  They had “original glory.” Psalm 8 says that we are crowned with glory and honor.  So what happened to that glory?

 

Through the fall of man, we lost our glory!  We no longer have original glory–the glory with which God crowned Adam and Eve. But David sang, “we are crowned with glory and honor.”   How are we crowned with glory if our glory was lost in the fall of Adam and Eve?  Maybe God provides an answer to that question.   It is an answer we all desperately need to hear and understand.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 responses to “Waking the Dead – Our Glory

  1. Pingback: Waking the Dead-What is Wrong with Me? | The Good News

  2. Pingback: The Heart is Central | The Good News

  3. Pingback: Deep Restoration, Part 3 | The Good News

Would you like to add your thoughts?

