The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Inclusivity in the Kingdom

Isaiah 56:3-5

3 Let not the foreigner who has joined himself to the Lord say,
“The Lord will surely separate me from his people”;
and let not the eunuch say,
“Behold, I am a dry tree.”
4 For thus says the Lord:
“To the eunuchs who keep my Sabbaths,
who choose the things that please me
and hold fast my covenant,
5 I will give in my house and within my walls
a monument and a name
better than sons and daughters;
I will give them an everlasting name
that shall not be cut off.

I read this passage this morning and was intrigued by it. It is not the first time a similar concept is introduced in the Old Testament. But, I note that these concepts were not introduced by priests but by prophets.

If you are a Jesus follower and a non-Jew, this passage is preparing a model for your coming into the Kingdom! The Lord was setting the stage even in Isaiah so that you and I may see His Kingdom.

The foreigners and the eunuchs in the land of the children of Israel were our predecessors. Through Isaiah God comforts the foreigner, the outsider, that if he has joined faithfully to The Lord, The Lord has received the person and give them an everlasting name–a name that will endure to eternity.

How do we apply this today. EnterTheBible.org calls this one of the most inclusive passages in the Bible. The application I came to as I prayed about what God would say to me through these words, is to be open to people coming into my community who are not like me. In fact, I asked God to make me open to people who are very different from myself. I want to be open and willing to see Jesus draw many to Himself who don’t have my values nor are they like me in other ways.

Lord, make me open to my neighbor no matter how different he appears to me.

Would you like to add your thoughts?

