The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Seeing Our Way Clearly

I am rereading another one of John Eldredge’s books, Waking the Dead.

I am focusing on this book for a while so if you have read the book, I’d love your input here. If you are interested, please pick up a copy and read it with me.

Waking the Dead, that is an apt title. He starts part 1 with the title “Seeing Our Way Clearly.” That is so on the money for the modern christian culture in the world–the western world anyway. That is the part of God’s body I am most familiar with.

I Corinthians 13 says that ‘..we see through a glass darkly…’ and that is the way most Christians stroll or run through life–really not seeing. Not seeing that the table is set and waiting for them to dine. Not seeing so many of the things that Christ offers us for all of life–not just part of it. He wants us to see so much more than we give ourselves the opportunity to see.

However, if we open up our lives to him, he will give us eyes to see. We will see that His way is best, always best. We will begin to see His calling on us. We will see that we are supported by him in ways that we never could dream.

So, He truly does want to us to see more clearly and to see Him more clearly.

What is this life that we live?

Waking the Dead, page 9, Eldredge says, “I’d love to wake each morning knowing exactly who I am and where God is taking me. Zeroed in on all my relationships, undaunted in my calling. It is awesome when i do see. But for most of us, life seems more like driving along with a dirty windshield and then turning into the sun. I can sort of make out the shapes ahead, and I think the light is green.”

Wouldn’t it be nice to see where you are going?

Is life hard for you? why is life so hard? What about the abundant life Jesus promised? Where is it? Do you long for that from Him–abundant life?

I certainly do and I have been on a journey to deal with what is inside me and let Jesus reign more freely there. But, life is still hard and you and I must deal with that reality.

3 responses to “Seeing Our Way Clearly

  1. Planting Potatoes 01/11/2014 at 10:51 am

    glad God led me to your blog……this sounds like an interesting book..I think I will read it, thanks!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Deep Restoration, Part 3 | The Good News

Would you like to add your thoughts?

