The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Thanksgiving to the God of all Strength

Thanksgiving Day 2013

I woke this morning as did others to a cold, crisp rising of the sun upon me. I was reminded that as surely as the sun rises, so surely is my God’s faithfulness to me.

I opened my Bible and I looked for ‘whom have I in Heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you’ Psalm 73

I did not find it immediately. I went to Psalm 71 and I came on these verses: ‘O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds. So even to old age and gray hairs, O God, do not forsake me, until I proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come. Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you?’

Psalm 72:17, ‘May his name endure forever, his fame continue as long as the sun!’

That is how big our God is. He made the sun. The sun is a blessing to all who dwell here. His fame will long out live the sun. For that, I will worship and honor Him this Thanksgiving Day.

I will give thanks today with the next generation of my family and I will remind myself and the next generation that our God is to be adored and worshiped because His faithfulness covers all the earth.

Glory goes to the Maker of the sun. May His name be honored where all sunbeams shed light!

4 responses to “Thanksgiving to the God of all Strength

  1. theywhoseek 11/28/2013 at 10:58 am

    Oh, I really like that last line . . . I could make that into a poem 🙂 I pray you and yours will have a wonderfully blessed Thanksgiving!

    Like

Would you like to add your thoughts?

