The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Courage by Joab

Joab is King David’s commander. He gives us insight into our mentality as we go to battle. We go to battle every day as Christ followers. His thoughts could be our thoughts every day of the year.

II Samuel 10

12 “Courage! We’ll fight with might and main for our people and for the cities of our God. And God will do whatever he sees needs doing!” Message

12 “Be strong, and let us show ourselves courageous for the sake of our people and for the cities of our God; and may the Lord do what is good in His sight.” NASB

Just before this quote, he says this to his brother, Abishai, “If the Arameans are too much for me, you help me. And if the Ammonites prove too much for you, I’ll come and help you.” Message

These statements from Joab say to me what my thoughts are before God as I go out to fight. I trust absolutely in His strength. I know He calls me to courage. I will cling to and support my brothers and sisters to the death.

Would you like to add your thoughts?

