The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Bad Dreams

Candace, my granddaughter, and I were riding along in the Grand Prix as she was doing her homework. Later, she dosed off to sleep for a while. When she woke up she talked about the dreams she had the night before. She had dreamed that she’d woke up too late and missed a test. In another dream she actually failed the whole course. These were bad dreams for her. She is an ‘A’ student and very conscientious.

 

We talked about the chance that any of her bad dreams would come true. I surmised that it was a very low probability. She agreed that the chances of any of those things coming true were very small. She followed on with ‘but that doesn’t keep me from dreaming these bad things.’ I understood but I made a point about bad dreams or negative thoughts and reality.

 

I told her that I used to think that any day, my car was going to have trouble and cost me lots of money or cause me to be stranded somewhere. But, those things never happened.

When I bought my first house I would take off to my parents on weekends. On the drive back into town I’d have a horrible thought that the house would be burned down when I arrived. I told Candace, ‘that never happened either.’ I wanted to get across to her that there is many times little correlation between our bad dreams or negative thinking and the real world.

 

Satan would love for nothing better (or worse) than for Christians to be filled with negative thoughts–dwelling on troublesome thoughts that never come to be. Why? Because we are diverted and, sometimes, neutralized or shut down by our preoccupation with what could be.

 

I remember a time in my life when my thoughts were about to consume me. I’d just bought a house and I don’t remember details but surely there was a financial pressure I was facing. I remember getting out my Bible and reading II Corinthians 10. I got down on my knees and claimed verse 4 & 5:

 

4 For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. 5 We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ,

 

We all have times when we claim the blood over ourselves and our loved ones. We need to read Ephesians 6 and imagine ourselves putting the spiritual armor on us. We imagine those things because through our visualization, the truth in the Word becomes real to our hearts and we move into whatever circumstance we have to face in His power and using that spiritual armor needed for the cause or the resolution.

 

May we learn what the weapons of our warfare are and how to use them for the battles we are in. The Enemy came to ‘steal, kill, and destroy’ but our Savior came to give us life and He wants us to have it ‘more abundantly.’ (John 10:10)

 
 
Ephesians 6

4 responses to “Bad Dreams

  1. nopew 09/14/2013 at 2:12 pm

    “But first, be concerned about his kingdom and what has his approval. Then all these things will be provided for you. So don’t ever worry about tomorrow. After all, tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own”
    (Matt 6:33-34 GW) also came to mind.
    It’s good to be reminded to avoid what John Bunyan called “The Slough of Despond”.
    Peace

    Like

    • papapound 09/16/2013 at 12:05 pm

      Where did Bunyan write about the ‘Slough of Despond.’ I may have needed that encouragement this weekend.

      Like

      • nopew 09/16/2013 at 3:54 pm

        Pilgrim’s Progress, Ch. 4, where Pliable retreats back to the City of Destruction and gives up on the journey. It resides at the side of the path, and when people stray off they sink into it, represented as a swamp. The man Help comes along and tells Pilgrim the way out is up the steps! God provides a way out/through every temptation.

        Like

Would you like to add your thoughts?

