The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

I Sin, Peter Sins

I am a sinner in desperate need of forgiveness and transformation.

This post is not about me and it is not about you. It is about the Apostle Peter.

Peter is a great follower of Jesus but today I want to look at the dark side of Peter’s life.

What happened in Peter’s life in Luke 22 is so typical of how we are deceived by the enemy. So, I relate much to the pressure Peter must have felt. I have responded many times the way Peter responds here. Like my brother, Peter, I want to be stronger, endure and rise above. Lord will I?

Luke 22: 31 “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat; 32 but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.” 33 But he said to Him, “Lord, with You I am ready to go both to prison and to death!” 34 And He said, “I say to you, Peter, the rooster will not crow today until you have denied three times that you know Me.”

The Garden of Gethsemane

39 And He came out and proceeded as was His custom to the Mount of Olives; and the disciples also followed Him. 40 When He arrived at the place, He said to them, “Pray that you may not enter into temptation.” 41 And He withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and began to pray, 42 saying, “Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but Yours be done.” 43 [i]Now an angel from heaven appeared to Him, strengthening Him. 44 And being in agony He was praying very fervently; and His sweat became like drops of blood, falling down upon the ground. 45 When He rose from prayer, He came to the disciples and found them sleeping from sorrow, 46 and said to them, “Why are you sleeping? Get up and pray that you may not enter into temptation.”

I find myself in this place that Peter is in here, he has been warned by his Master that danger is ahead and yet like mine, his flesh is weak and he cannot endure even a short time in prayer to strengthen the spirit when he needs this strength. Peter needed the Spirit so desperately here and yet his flesh consumed him. All he could do is sleep.

What do you believe Peter was thinking?

What feelings was he experiencing?

4 responses to “I Sin, Peter Sins

  1. nopew 09/05/2013 at 9:15 pm

    Peter thought he was better than everyone else. Funny thing, we are all less than we thought we were. Is that a rooster I hear?
    Peace

    Like

  2. Pingback: INDISCRIMINATE EXPRESSION OF EMOTIONS | Inspirational Christian Blogs

  3. Pingback: I Sin, Peter Sins Part 4 | The Good News

Would you like to add your thoughts?

