The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

I Sin

My sin caused this.

I am looking at Luke 22. As I do, I focus on 3 verses (63-65) with the subtitle, “Jesus is Mocked.”

63 now the men who were holding Jesus in custody were mocking Him as they beat Him. 64 they also blindfolded Him and kept asking him, “Prophesy! Who is it that struck you?” 65 And they said many other things against Him, blaspheming Him.

My sin caused this.

This is just the beginning of the terrible ordeal Jesus endured for my sake. His captors mocked Him and played games with Him. They blasphemed the Son of God. My sin caused this.

“My sin caused this” –4 little words. Four other little words I spoke a couple of years ago which reminded me how vile my nature is. I spoke 4 little words to a brother with a most offensive tone and attitude in my heart towards him. Those words showed me that I was as wretched as my brother, the Apostle Peter, in his denial of the Savior. I see the failure of the Apostle. Now I see my failures, my wretchedness, my hopelessness.

I need this Savior. Who will deliver me from this wretchedness I find myself trapped in?

I am delivered as I look to Jesus for forgiveness and acceptance and as U operate by His strength. As I allow His love to transform the dark chambers of my heart. Bring the deliverance on!

Related:

Evil is Hunting Us

8 responses to “I Sin

  1. nopew 09/03/2013 at 3:22 pm

    “So I’ve discovered this truth: Evil is present with me even when I want to do what God’s standards say is good…What a miserable person I am! Who will rescue me from my dying body? I thank God that our Lord Jesus Christ rescues me! So I am obedient to God’s standards with my mind, but I am obedient to sin’s standards with my corrupt nature” (Romans 7:21, 24-25 GW).
    Christ rescues me!
    Peace

    Like

  2. darylgstewart 09/03/2013 at 10:15 pm

    We are so blessed that God forgets all this, once we are forgiven. Wish we could forget.

    Like

  3. Pingback: I Sin, Peter Sins Part 4 | The Good News

  4. Pingback: I Sin, Peter Sins | The Good News

Would you like to add your thoughts?

