The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

Atheist Come to Christ

I just love these stories: “Kirsten Powers: How a Liberal Democrat and Former Atheist Came to Know Jesus Christ as her Savior.”

I do have to admit they seem to be fewer and fewer in the western world while the Holy Spirit seems to be working overtime in the global south.

It would appear this lady was drug kicking and screaming into the Kingdom. It does happen though. I have seen it happen over and over again.

Listen to her story:

I started dating someone who went to Tim Keller’s church, Redeemer Presbyterian in New York City. Out of curiosity, I went with him. But I told him upfront that I would never become a Christian; that it’s never going to happen. After about six or seven months, I began to think that the weight of history is more on the side of what [I was hearing at this church] than not. Tim Keller had made such a strong case, that I began to think it’s not even smart to reject this. It just doesn’t seem like a good intellectual decision.

There it is–the strong tug. Thank you Holy Spirit. Your work is fabulous and permanent! You go after the called ones. This so humbles me–I know I am not worthy, yet the Spirit came after me too. How unbelievable!

Really, it was like God sort of invaded my life. It was very unwelcome. I didn’t like it. Obviously, I started having a lot of different experiences where I felt God was doing a lot of things in my life. It’s kind of hard to describe, but I did have this moment where the scales just fell off of my eyes, where I was saying, ‘this is just totally true, I don’t even have any doubt.’ …I don’t really feel like I had any courage when I became a Christian, I just gave in. I wasn’t courageous; I didn’t have any choice. I kept trying to not believe but I just couldn’t avoid [accepting Christ]. If I could have avoided it, I would have. There is nothing convenient about it in my life or in the world I live in. It’s not like living in the South where everybody is a Christian. I live in a world where nobody is a believer. But God pursued me.

I just gave in. When the Holy Spirit invades, we just surrender. This is a kind testimony of His gracious power.

But God pursued me too! Kirsten may not even realize it now, but the most dynamic power that ever could, just entered her life. She is in His Kingdom. It is a sweet, warm, loving place to be–more than any of us can imagine!

Original article

4 responses to “Atheist Come to Christ

  1. Rebecca 08/12/2013 at 2:42 am

    I love reading these type of testimonies! Thank you for sharing! ~Blessings~

    Like

  2. nopew 08/12/2013 at 8:40 am

    And she’s right, it’s not “convenient”, but it is stupendous!
    Peace

    Like

Would you like to add your thoughts?

