The Good News

Discussion of the Best News in the World, the Gospel of Jesus, and related topics

His Words

Here I focus on psalm 119 because to me it represents a microcosm of how a Christian lives and interacts with the Word of God. David presents a great example because he is so open with God about what he is going through–his feelings and desires.

What I will do here is just take a verse or line and relate it to what David is going through or to the eternal truth that God relays in it.

Right from the get go (I have never written that term before but I sure have heard it many times) The Lord through David presents a “standard” for us or maybe I should say a qualifier of life.

Blessed are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of The Lord.

I am focusing on “walk” here, meaning God is referring to someone who is seeking him and not casually encountering him. God looks for those whose hearts are turned towards Him. There is a sense of continuity with the use if the word “walk.” Note the Hebrews 11 refers to Enoch as one who walked with God.

Read the psalm for yourself. There is too much there to highlight here. Besides, the main point I need to get to you is, get into God’s Word for what He wants to say to you. My thoughts here are meant to be a catalyst for that–you getting into the Word for worship, guidance.

Right away we get the sense that David is at a point in his life where he is longing for a relationship with God or for more from his relationship with God.

Open my eyes that I may behold wondrous things from your law. V. 18

David views God’s law as the source for great things in and for his life for those around him. God’s law is the source for his joy, his strength. “Your promise gives me life.” Do you view God’s word that way? I have no always viewed God’s word that way. I am coming around to the thought that He is my source, my joy, and my strength–actually He is–the Word is just the way I get my understanding of how He is and how He becomes those things to me.

Verse 20 shows us that David longs for God’s law. Why is that? I believe he wrote this Psalm later in life and had been through many temptations, sin, and trials by then. He had seen his utter depravity in the flesh and had experienced tremendous heart ache (verse 28) which affected his whole family. These experiences caused his to yearn for God’s law. “It was good that I was afflicted, that I may learn your statues.” (Verse 71)

I know, O Lord, that your rules are righteous, and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me. Let your steadfast love comfort me according to your promise to your servant. Let your mercy come to me, that I may live, for your law is my delight. (Verses 75-78)

Can you relate to David’s words/prayer here? It is okay if the answer is no right now. Is that something you want to be true in your relationship with God? If so, just let Him know. It is amazing how He guides our path when we ask.

I will never forget your precepts, for by them you have given me life, I am yours, save me, for I have sought your precepts.

Here David lays it on the line. Lord, I want you, I am yours, lead me, guide me by your Word. I am seeking you because I have come to understand that you are my life, my all.

Lord here our words as we echo David’s is this great psalm. Give us of Yourself as we seek You. It is You and You alone that we want.

Explanation of Hebrew words like precept
http://www.biblepages.web.surftown.se/hn03.htm

Lookup a word or passage in the Bible

BibleGateway.com

Would you like to add your thoughts?

