Powerful proof Jesus rose when He said He would

I have included the story I read this morning below.  This story is from Luke 24 and it is 3 days after Jesus was buried in a borrowed tomb.

If you are like, me you read the Bible and most of the words you and I read seem insignificant and it could be with this passage.

What do I see here in Luke 24? Despondent disciples of Jesus are walking along, probably sad and not speaking many words as they walk.  As I read this set of verses this morning, I got to verse 21 and realized I wanted to shake Cleopas’ hand when I see him in heaven.  He is a man after my heart.  “I believe but then it seems not to have come true.”

How often am I like that?  I am so much like Cleopas, without enduring belief.  “I believe, but help me in my unbelief O Lord!”

On Good Friday, today, I have to bow before my Maker and give thanks that you had Luke record what Cleopas, my brother said: “…it is now the third day since all these things happened.”

That statement seals it.  That statement resolves all the controversy over whether the Bible records the events accurately.  In Cleopas’ thinking by his statement, this is three days after the death of Jesus.  There stands the Resurrected One!  There is One alive who died three days ago.  “That Christ died…that He was buried, that He was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures…”!  I Corinthians 15:3-4.

Thank you Jesus that Cleopas said “3 days” back to you on the road to Emmaus.

Aren’t we all on the road to Emmaus, walking with Cleopas?  But there is One greater also who is walking with us.  This One understands the events of our lives and their implications with much more wisdom than we ever will.

Isn’t it our place to invite this one who knows all into our existence and allow Him to rule, guide and live through us?  Don’t we desperately need Him to live?  Don’t we desperately need to see what He offers us, to Emmaus and beyond?  He knows, He  controls and He delivers and frees.  He is the One who sets us free and gives us life everlasting.  He gives life that is abundant and free.  Lets get at the feet of this One who is able. Let’s together serve Him today–the One most deserving of our gratitude and faith.

My dear Lord Jesus, I come to you now to be restored in you–to renew my place in you, my allegiance to you, and to receive from you all the grace and mercy I so desperately need this day.  I honor you as my sovereign Lord, and I surrender every aspect of my life totally and completely to you. I give you my body as a living sacrifice; I give you my heart, soul, mind, and strength; and I give you my spirit as well.

On the Road to Emmaus

13That very day two of them were going to a village named Emmaus, about seven miles from Jerusalem, 14and they were talking with each other about all these things that had happened. 15While they were talking and discussing together, Jesus himself drew near and went with them. 16But their eyes were kept from recognizing him. 17And he said to them, “What is this conversation that you are holding with each other as you walk?” And they stood still, looking sad.18Then one of them, named Cleopas, answered him, “Are you the only visitor to Jerusalem who does not know the things that have happened there in these days?” 19And he said to them, “What things?” And they said to him, “Concerning Jesus of Nazareth, a man who was a prophet mighty in deed and word before God and all the people, 20and how our chief priests and rulers delivered him up to be condemned to death, and crucified him. 21But we had hoped that he was the one to redeem Israel. Yes, and besides all this, it is now the third day since these things happened.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vepBqHvZ0Xs

Enhanced by Zemanta
