I have lost two friends lately to death.   One of those was a neighbor.  I have missed him greatly.  Though he did not say much, just having him around meant something to me.  I could always go over and talk to him about most anything if I felt the need.  Ed Baggett is missed by me.

More recently a friend, Lynn Harold Crouch, passed away.  He last battle was with cancer, originally prostate cancer.  His memorial service was something to remember.

For the opening we sang It Is Well

In 1873, Horatio Spafford wrote the words to the hymn “It is Well with My Soul” after the tragic death of his four daughters. (He wrote it on the ocean while sailing near the spot where his daughters died.) Very moving.

Bob, the pastor, read from I Thessolonians 4:

1 Thessalonians 4 English Standard Version The Coming of the Lord

13 But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope. 14 For since we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so, through Jesus, God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep. 15 For this we declare to you by a word from the Lord,[d] that we who are alive, who are left until the coming of the Lord, will not precede those who have fallen asleep. 16 For the Lord himself will descend from heaven with a cry of command, with the voice of an archangel, and with the sound of the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord. 18 Therefore encourage one another with these words.

Bob likened Lynn to Caleb in the old Testament and read Caleb’s story from Joshua 14: 6-12. The way he likened Lynn to Caleb is that he saw in that passage that Caleb Lived well, Finished well, and Suffered well.

Next Bob read the most glorious catechism question of all, the Heidelberg Question 60. How are you righteous before God?

Answer: Only by a true faith in Jesus Christ; so that, though my conscience accuse me, that I have grossly transgressed all the commandments of God, and kept none of them, and am still inclined to all evil; notwithstanding, God, without any merit of mine, but only of mere grace, grants and imputes to me, the perfect satisfaction, righteousness and holiness of Christ; even so, as if I never had had, nor committed any sin: yea, as if I had fully accomplished all that obedience which Christ has accomplished for me; inasmuch as I embrace such benefit with a believing heart.

Then Bob made a point that right now (at the memorial service) they, the angels and enraptured were playing Revelee in the grandest style.

Here is be best rendition of Revelee I can find:

Lynn also will be missed.  But what a wonderful reminder of what awaits all who follow Jesus.

